Second edition of Victor Pinchuk Foundation’s 100,000 USD Future Generation Art Prize is announced

Applications open today for the second edition of the biennial Future Generation Art Prize, launched by the Victor Pinchuk Foundation in 2009. The prize is supported by over 50 partner platforms all over the world. The winner will be announced in December 2012, coinciding with an exhibition of the shortlisted artists at the PinchukArtCentre in Kiev from October 2012 to January 2013.


Damien Hirst, Jeff Koons, Andreas Gursky and Takashi Murakami are Mentor Artists for the Prize, providing advice and support for the winning artist. Andreas Gursky will present an exhibition of his own works at the PinchukArtCentre, Kyiv, Ukraine at the same time as that of the shortlisted artists.

The Prize is open to all artists up to the age of 35 with the aim of acknowledging and giving long-term support to a future generation of artists. The Prize is unique because of its global reach and highly democratic form of application via the Internet.
The exhibition will be on view from October 2012 to January 2013. The international jury will gather in Kiev in December 2012 to view and discuss the artists’ works. The jury will select one main Prize winner, who will receive a total of 100,000 USD (60,000 USD as a cash award, and 40,000 USD toward the production of new work).  An additional 20,000 USD will be allotted to fund artist-in-residency program to the special prize winner.

The panel of jurors for the 2012 prize will be announced along with names of 20 artists shortlisted for the Prize in June 2012. The winner of the national PinchukArtCentre Prize 2011 also will participate, bringing the maximum number of artists in the exhibition to 21.
A distinguished international Board oversees the Future Generation Art Prize.  In addition to chairman Victor Pinchuk and the four Mentor Artists, the Board’s membership includes Eli Broad, Dakis Joannou, Elton John, Miuccia Prada and art museum directors Richard Armstrong (Solomon R. Guggenheim Foundation and Museum), Glenn D. Lowry (The Museum of Modern Art), Alfred Pacquement (Musée nationale d’art moderne, Centre Georges Pompidou) and Sir Nicholas Serota (Tate).

Following the close of applications, an expert Selection Committee comprised of members chosen by the jury will review all applications and decide on a shortlist of as many as twenty artists, whose names will be announced in June 2012. These artists will participate in the Prize exhibition by showing existing works highlighted in their applications and may also create new works.

Dead line.  6 of may 2012
More informatión:


No hay comentarios todavía. ¿Quieres ser el primero en decir algo?

Deja un comentario